My Ideal 2014 Outback Bowl Scenario

Here we are, Hawkeye fans.  The moment is now that not many could’ve imagined in late August on the dawn of the 2013 college football season: It’s Gameday Eve as Iowa takes on LSU in the 2014 Outback Bowl.   As I shoveled another 2 inches of snow off my driveway last night, the reality certainly set in that I will not be witnessing the game live in the Florida tropics.  But, nonetheless, I’ll be cozy and comfortable watching from the artificial warmth of my basement with plenty of snacks in homey tailgate fashion.  As I’ve mentioned in the last few posts, my family and I watched the 2005 Capital One Bowl live and in person.  It was the only bowl game I’ve ever watched live and I’ve always told myself that experience could not be beat. In today’s post I’m going to try to describe in photos that I’ve taken what I hope to see happen in tomorrow’s game.  Obviously I’m going to predict a Hawkeye victory, and I really hope it does come down to the game’s final play.  That final play I hope for will be reminiscent of the 2005 Capital One Bowl where Drew Tate threw the deep ball to Warren Holloway for the game winner and Holloway’s first and only touchdown reception of the season for the departing senior.  So, let’s get started!

WHAT I THINK WILL HAPPEN

James Morris wraps up Jordan Lynch

James Morris will be flying all over the field in pursuit of the newbie LSU QB.  Here, Morris did a fine job of keeping Heisman finalist Jordan Lynch in check.

The LSU defense will no doubt see plenty of this guy in the first half.  Mark Weisman should be healthy and that nasty bruise on the right bicep should be all clear.

The LSU defense will no doubt see plenty of this guy in the first half. Mark Weisman should be healthy and that nasty bruise on the right bicep should be all clear.

As Weisman tears up the first half, Jordan Canzeri will be waiting on the sideline getting hungrier and hungrier.  Once he is unleashed the LSU defense will be stunned at Canzeri's quickness as he slashes for over 100 yards in the 2nd half.

As Weisman tears up the first half, Jordan Canzeri will be waiting on the sideline getting hungrier and hungrier. Once he is unleashed the LSU defense will be stunned at Canzeri’s quickness as he slashes for over 100 yards in the 2nd half.

WR Damond Powell will have his biggest day yet as a Hawkeye with his SEC-like speed.

WR Damond Powell will have his biggest day yet as a Hawkeye with his SEC-like speed.

WHAT I WANT TO SEE HAPPEN

The game will be tied late in the 4th quarter.  Then all Hawkeye Heck breaks loose.

Hawkeye DB BJ Lowery

Hawkeye DB BJ Lowery will be covering Odell Beckham and will force the pick in LSU’s final possession setting up a final minute frenzy.

DSC_0332

On the games final play, a la 2005 Capital One Bowl, Hawkeye QB Jake Rudock will unleash a pass only to be caught by unheralded senior WR Don Shumpert for his only TD of the season, just like Warren Holloway did.

Senior WR will take his place in Hawkeye history as he catches the game winning pass.

Senior WR Don Shumpert will take his rightful place in Hawkeye history as he catches the game winning pass.

So that’s my story.  Hawkeyes will win 30-24.

Happy New Year everybody!  LET’S GO HAWKS!

One thought on “My Ideal 2014 Outback Bowl Scenario

Leave a Reply

