2002 Hawkeyes Honored at Kinnick

The 2002 Iowa Hawkeyes.

That has got to be the best Hawkeye football team ever assembled.  Certainly in the modern era.  Not to take anything away from the 2009 Hawkeyes, who also went to the Orange Bowl and won, but the 2002 Hawkeyes were my favorite team since I’ve been a fan.  Here are some of the names: Dallas Clark, Brad Banks, Bob Sanders, Nate Kaeding, Matt Roth, Jonathan Babineaux, Robert Gallery, Colin Cole, Fred Russell, Howard Hodges, Bruce Nelson, just to name a few.  Last Saturday, that team was honored during the game and it is hard to believe its been 10 years since we tore down the goal posts and physically carried them out of Minnesota’s Metrodome after winning the B1g 10 Conference that year.  You have got to watch the ESPN highlight reel of the Minnesota game from that link.  Ah, what memories we have.

Back to the 2002 team at Kinnick…here are some shots I took of the festivities inside Kinnick honoring that great team.

I loved how they came out on the field in typical ‘”Swarm” fashion.

2002 player Matt Roth walks over to the OL to get them pumped up prior to start of 2nd Quarter. Center James Ferentz acknowledges.

Looks to me like some of these guys could still play. KC, you need some help?  Hello, Mr. Back Row Far Left

Former NFL player and Hawkeye Ol Bruce Nelson served as Honorary Captain.

2002 Heisman Trophy runner-up Brad Banks was in the house.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s